VN ambassador presents credentials to Albanian President

VOV.VN - Le Hong Truong, Vietnamese Ambassador to Greece and Albania, recently presented President Nguyen Xuan Phuc’s credentials to Albanian President Ilir Meta.

Ambassador Truong conveyed the best wishes of President Nguyen Xuan Phuc and other senior leaders of Vietnam to the Albanian President, as well as their invitation to Ilir Meta to visit Vietnam in the near future.

He expressed his great honor to be appointed as Vietnamese Ambassador to Albania, and affirmed that Vietnam always wishes to strengthen cooperation with Albania.

He vowed to work hard to promote the traditional friendship and cooperation between the two countries in various fields, especially in politics, economy and trade alongside close cooperation at multilateral forums.

For his part, President Ilir Meta reaffirmed the good relationship between Albania and Vietnam and wished that the two countries would take steps to elevate bilateral relations to new heights.

He suggested that both countries speed up the early signing of economic and investment cooperation agreements which are now under negotiations.

Ambassador Le Hong Truong also had a working session with Mimoza Halimi, Director of the Americas, Asia and Africa, and Silvana Leskaj, Director of Economic Diplomacy under the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs of Albania.

The two sides discussed measures to strengthen bilateral cooperation in economy, trade and tourism, among others. They agreed to speed up the establishment of honorary consulates in the two countries.

Ambassador Truong proposed that Albania soon approve visa exemption for ordinary Vietnamese passport holders, and support Vietnam’s viewpoint regarding the peaceful settlement of sea-related disputes in the South China Sea (East Sea) in line with international law, including the 1982 UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

Meanwhile, the Albanian side expected to receive support and learn from Vietnam’s experience during its 2022-2023 tenure as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council.