Vietnam name 28-man squad ahead of AFC U23 Championship 2020 finals

VOV.VN - A total of 28 footballers have been called up to the Vietnamese men’s under-23 football team in preparation for the finals of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) U23 Championship 2020.

vietnam name 28-man squad ahead of afc u23 championship 2020 finals hinh 0
Several key footballers are from the victorious Vietnam U22 team who won gold at the SEA Games 30

Vietnam’s head coach Park Hang Seo has named 28 players to take part in a training camp in the Republic of Korea (RoK), with several key footballers from the victorious Vietnam U22 team who won gold at the SEA Games 30 also set to take part.

Whilst some players such as Tran Dinh Trong are returning from injury, others such as Y Eli Nie and Tran Danh Trung are moving up from Vietnam’s U19 squad.

Due to club commitments with SC Heerenveen in the Netherlands, Doan Van Hau will be unable to participate in the training camp in the RoK with the rest of the squad.

Led by head coach Park Hang Seo, the Vietnamese team flew back to Hanoi from the Philippines on December 11 with the team’s training camp scheduled to get underway in two days.

The finals of the AFC U23 Championship 2020 is scheduled to take place in Thailand between January 8 and January 26. Vietnam’s U23s have been placed in Group D alongside Jordan, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Vietnam are to play the UAE, Jordan, and the DPRK on January 10, January 13, and January 16, respectively.

The tournament’s leading four teams will earn the right to compete in the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

Here is the list of 28 players called up to the Vietnam U23 men’s football team:

Goalkeepers: Nguyen Van Toan (Haiphong FC), Bui Tien Dung (Hanoi FC), and Y Eli Nie (Dak Lak FC)

Defenders: Le Ngoc Bao (Pho Hien FC), Nguyen Van Hanh (Haiphong FC), Dinh Trong, Nguyen Thanh Chung (Hanoi FC), Ho Tan Tai (Becamex Binh Duong FC), Huynh Tan Sinh (Quang Nam FC), Do Thanh Thinh (SHB Danang FC), Nguyen Duc Chien (Viettel FC), Dung Quang Nho (HAGL FC), and Bui Tien Dung (SHB Danang FC)

Midfielders: Nguyen Trong Hung (Thanh Hoa FC), Nguyen Trong Long, Martin Lo (Pho Hien FC), Tran Bao Toan (HAGL FC), Phan Thanh Hau (HAGL FC), Thanh Son (HAGL FC), Trieu Viet Hung (HAGL FC), Nguyen Hong Son (Quang Nam FC), Nguyen Quang Hai (Hanoi FC), Truong Van Thai Quy (Hanoi FC), Hoang Duc (Viettel FC), and Trong Dai (Viettel FC)

Strikers: Nham Manh Dung (Viettel FC), Ha Duc Chinh (SHB Danang FC), and Nguyen Tien Linh (Becamex Binh Duong FC)

Related news