|Hai Van Gate
Under the MoU, the two localities will co-sponsor a project on the preservation of the relic site, which lies between the two central localities, with the investment contributed equally by the two sides.
The People’s Committee of Thua Thien-Hue will be responsible for granting investment licence, approving the project’s content and directing relevant units to implement the project during this year. The work is expected to be completed in 2020.
Located 490m above sea level, Hai Van Gate sits atop its namesake mountain pass and connects Da Nang’s Lien Chieu district with Thua Thien-Hue’s Lang Co township, Phu Loc district.
The Hai Van Pass runs some 21km on the Bach Ma Range, which juts into the East Sea in central Vietnam.
The relic complex was built in 1826 under the rule of the Nguyen dynasty’s King Minh Mang (1791-1841), who ordered the construction of multiple defensive structures on Hai Van Pass to protect the then imperial capital of Vietnam in Hue. The structures included fortifications, store houses and cannon forts.
According to historical records, after building the complex, King Minh Mang inscribed its name in Vietnamese - “Hai Van Quan” - on the side of the gate facing Hue Imperial Citadel, and the words “Thien ha de nhat hung quan” (the world’s most marvelous wonder) on the other side facing Da Nang.
The gate was recognised as a national relic site in April 2017.
It has grown to become a popular attraction among tourists as it offers stunning views of the surrounding water bodies and landscape. Last year, the relic site welcomed around 2 million tourists, 90 percent of whom are foreigner.