Exhibition gives insight into changes in Hanoi’s administrative boundary

An exhibition of archival materials on the changes in Hanoi’s administrative boundary since the feudal period to now was opened at the relic site of the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long on October 2.

exhibition gives insight into changes in hanoi’s administrative boundary hinh 0
At the opening ceremony (Photo: hanoimoi.com.vn)
The event, which runs until October 15, is an activity to mark the 65th anniversary of the liberation of the capital from French colonialists (October 10, 1954-2019).

A total of 88 documents, maps and photos are on display, arranged in three periods, showing the administrative boundary of Hanoi before the August Revolution in 1945, during the time from 1945 to 1954, and after 1954.

As of 1945, Hanoi had a total area of 150 sq.km. The French colonial regime divided Hanoi into the urban and suburban areas. The urban area comprised of 8 sections, while the suburban area was divided into 8 “tong” (districts) with 36 communes.

During 1954-2010, Hanoi’s administrative boundary underwent four major adjustments in 1961, 1978, 1991 and 2008. Hanoi’s boundary was expanded in 1961 and 1978, but narrowed in 1991 before being broadened on a much larger scale in 2008.

The expansion of administrative boundary carried out under the 12th National Assembly’s Resolution 15/2008/QH12 in 2008 was a historic event with long-term and comprehensive impacts and influence on the capital city’s political, economic and social situation.

After merging with the whole neighbouring Ha Tay province, Me Linh district of Vinh Phuc province and four communes of Luong Son district, Hoa Binh province, the current Hanoi stretches over 3,328 sq.km, tripling the former acreage. The city has 577 communes, districts and townships of 29 districts and towns.

Related news