Ninth ASEAN Maritime Forum gets underway in Danang

VOV.VN - The central city of Danang is playing host to the ninth ASEAN Maritime Forum (AMF 9) as the event officially opened on December 5, with over 50 delegates from 10 ASEAN member states and the ASEAN Secretariat in attendance.

ninth asean maritime forum gets underway in danang hinh 0
At the event (Photo: VNA)
During his opening speech at AMF 9, Vu Ho, Director General of the ASEAN Department under Vietnam’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, affirmed that co-operation and maritime security will remain a top priority for the ASEAN bloc and its affiliates.

At present, over 12 ASEAN agencies are actively involving in maritime co-operation events by ensuring a consistent level of maritime security and safety, carrying out search and rescue work, combating piracy, fighting illegally fishing, protecting the environment, as well as dealing with plastic waste.

The forum also aims to review co-operation activities, identify obstacles and discuss measures in a bid to further increase the efficiency of co-operation in the crucial field. 

Ho also requested that ASEAN members continue to be active in exchanging and proposing solutions to elevate the role of the ASEAN Maritime Forum and the Expanded ASEAN Maritime Forum as a way of promoting dialogues and co-ordination on maritime issues throughout the region.

Established in 2010, the ASEAN Maritime Forum is designed to create opportunities for relevant agencies to hold dialogues and take part in an array of marine co-operation activities.

AMF 9 is set to see a host of topics discussed, including the implementation of maritime security and safety, the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), the enhancement of connectivity, maritime environmental protection measures, and maritime tourism development.

Following the forum, the Seventh Expanded ASEAN Maritime Forum will be held on December 6 with the participation of government officials from 10 ASEAN member states and eight partner countries, including Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, Russia, and the US.


Related news