Vuong Dinh Hue sworn in as NA Chairman for second time

VOV.VN - After being elected by the 15th National Assembly (NA) to hold the position of NA Chairman for the new term, Vuong Dinh Hue was sworn in for the second time on July 20 during the first session of the 15th legislature.

Politburo member and Chairman of the 14th NA Vuong Dinh Hue was duly elected as Chairman of the 15th tenure during the course of the first session of the 15th legislature held on July 20 in Hanoi.

During the course of the vote, 475 deputies present, equal to 95.19% of the total number of lawmakers, voted yes.

Following this, NA Chairman Hue vowed to be absolutely faithful to the Fatherland, the people, and the Constitution of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. The top legislator went on to pledge to strive to fulfil the various missions assigned to him by the Party, State, and the people.

As part of his speech, the NA leader outlined that in his position, he will do his utmost to continue renewing the working methods and improving the operational quality and efficiency of the legislature process. This will be done for the supreme goal of serving national interests and for the sake of all citizens.

He also pledged to strengthen national defence and security, whilst firmly safeguarding national independence, sovereignty, territorial integrity, and promoting greater global integration.

NA Chairman Hue was born in 1957 in Nghi Xuan commune of Nghi Loc district in Nghe An province and is a Professor and Doctor of Economics. He has served as a member of the Party Central Committee since 2006, a member of the Politburo since 2016, and a NA deputy since 2011.

He is the 12th NA chair since the first general election was held in Vietnam in 1946, and the second Secretary of Ha Noi Party Committee to be in this position after the incumbent Secretary-General and State President Nguyen Phu Trong.

Earlier on March 31 Hue was sworn in for the first time after receiving 100% of the votes from the 473 legislators during the 11th sitting of the 14th-tenure legislature.

During the morning of July 20, all 466 lawmakers, or 93.39% of the total, adopted a resolution on the election of 13 members of the NA Standing Committee. As a result, the NA Standing Committee in the 15th tenure will comprise the NA Chairman, the four Vice NA Chairmen, and the 13 elected members.

Immediately after the election, the NA Standing Committee convened its first session to assign duties among the members and gave opinions on personnel work.

In the afternoon the same day,  lawmakers also elected vice chairmen and members of the Standing Committee of the legislative body. 
All 483 deputies present at the session voted to approve a resolution on the election of four NA Vice Chairmen, who are Tran Thanh Man, Nguyen Khac Dinh, Nguyen Duc Hai and Tran Quang Phuong.