10th CLV Summit reviews trilateral cooperation programmes

VOV.VN - The 10th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam Summit on Development Triangle Area (CLV-10) Hanoi on March 31 reviewed the results of trilateral cooperation programmes over the past time and outline development orientations for the next period.

Prime Minister Ngyen Xuan Phuc said the three countries have realized special cooperation programmes on socio-economic development in the development triangle area consisting of 13 border provinces.

Positive cooperation outcomes from security and politics to economy, trade and education have been obtained thus narrowing development gaps among localities, PM Phuc said.
Vietnamese businesses have poured US$3.59 billion in 113 projects in Laos and Cambodian provinces. Five Vietnamese provinces in the development triangle area have attracted 233 projects from 20 countries and territories with a total registered capital of US$2.3 billion, he said.

He attributed the outcomes to the great efforts by the three countries as well as the valuable support from ASEAN and development partners, especially the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the World Bank (WB).

At the meeting, new policies were touched upon aiming to boost regional cooperation in a more effective and pragmatic way.

The success of the event will make significant contribution to realizingealisation of the ASEAN Community Vision through 2025, the PM said.
The CLV Development Triangle Area was established in 1999, covering Vietnam’s Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong provinces; Laos’ Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan provinces; and Cambodia’s Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri.
In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s Kratie province, and Laos’ Champasak province to the area. Its cooperation concentrates on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry, agriculture, trade, investment and environmental protection

The event saw the attendance of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Cambodian Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen, Lao Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith, President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Takehiko Nakao, Managing Director of the World Bank (WB) Joanquim Levy, and Secretary-General of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Lim Jock Hoi.