PM proposes number of Government members remain unchanged

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc delivered a report on the structure of the Government for the 2016-2021 tenure on July 27 during the 14th National Assembly’s first session.

pm proposes number of government members remain unchanged hinh 0
Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc
According to the report, the Government’s structure will remain at 27 members, including one Prime Minister (PM), five Deputy Prime Ministers, including one Deputy PM cum Foreign Minister, and 21 ministers and heads of ministerial-level agencies. 

Head of the National Assembly (NA)’s Law Committee Nguyen Khac Dinh delivered a report on the verification of the number of Government members, in which the committee agreed with the Prime Minister’s proposal as this structure accords with the legislature’s resolution on the structure and organisation of the Government, and proved effective in the previous tenure. 

However, several members of the NA committee proposed assigning one Deputy PM in charge of agricultural affairs, and assigning a Cabinet member to undertake the Foreign Minister post. 

The Government’s structure was then discussed in groups by lawmakers. 

The results of the discussion will be announced in the afternoon session.

Related news