Lawmakers vote on National Assembly leading positions

Procedures to elect the Chair and Vice Chairs of the 14th National Assembly and members of the NA Standing Committee were conducted on the afternoon of July 21, the second day of the 14th legislature’s first session.

lawmakers vote on national assembly leading positions hinh 0
Lawmakers vote on National Assembly leading positions
At the beginning of the afternoon sitting, the deputies adopted the lists of candidates to the positions of Chair, Vice Chair and member of the NA Standing Committee. 

Accordingly, 97.17 percent of deputies agreed on the nomination of Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan, Chairwoman of the 13th legislature, as Chairwoman of the 14th NA. 

The list of four candidates for the NA Vice Chair position was passed with 96.76 percent of votes, while 95.55 percent of votes approved the list of 13 candidates for NA Standing Committee. 

Following the election of a vote-counting committee, deputies cast their vote to select the Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons and members of the Standing Committee of the 14th NA. 

The result of the voting will be announced on the morning of July 22. 

During its first session, the 14th NA is also scheduled to elect the President and Vice President of the State, the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of the Supreme People’s Court and the State Auditor General. 

They will also decide on the apparatus of the government, approve the appointment of Deputy Prime Ministers, Ministers and other government members, Vice Chairs and members of the National Defence and Security Council. 

The remaining days will be spent deciding on the country’s key issues, including the government’s report on socio-economic development and State budget for the first half of this year, solutions to the socio-economic development and State budget for the second half of this year, approval of the 2014 State budget estimate and the NA’s resolutions on the programme on building laws and ordinances, the NA’s supervision programme for 2017 and the establishment of specialised inspection groups.

Related news