Asian Cup Volleyball Champs opens

The Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) Asian Men’s Cup Volleyball Championship opened in Vinh Yen city in the northern province of Vinh Phuc on September 1.

The biennial tournament gathers the leading men's volleyball teams in the Asian region. This year, eight teams are taking part in the competition including Australia, China, the Republic of Korea (RoK), Japan, Iran, India, Myanmar and Vietnam.

Matches will be broadcast live on the An Vien Television (Vietnam), CCTV (China), Korea Sports (RoK), Japan Sports ESPN (Japan), and Sports Australia (Australia) television channels.

After the opening ceremony, two-time defending champions Iran defeated China with a score of 3-2, and India lost to Australia 0-3.