Asia-Europe New Music Festival wraps up

VOV.VN - The 2nd Asia-Europe New Music Festival and the 34th Asian Composers League Festival & Conference closed at the Vietnam National Musical Academy (VNAM) in Hanoi on October 18 after six- day performance with 11 main concerts in Hanoi and Vinh Yen.

asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 0
Themed ‘Music – Convergence and Pervasion’, the festival introduced new works of the world’s outstanding composers of the contemporary music. More than 200 musicians, artists, singers and bandsmen from nearly 30 countries had a chance to meet and present their new works and discuss new music development trends in Asia and Europe.

asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 1
Addressing the closing ceremony, music composer Do Hong Quan, chairman of the Vietnam Musicians' Association and head of the organizing board, said with a series of events and nearly 100 pieces of music performed in 11 main performances of symphony music, chamber music, chorus, opera and ballet on October 12-18, audience can realize the scale and significance of the biggest international music event in Vietnam.

asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 2
Po-ChienLiu from Taiwan (China) wins first prize

Enthusiastic cooperation of Vietnamese and international artists played an important role in making the festival a success, Mr Quan said.

The organizing board presented prizes for young composers who competed at Asian Composers League (ACL) competition. The first prize went to young composer from Taiwan (China) Po-ChienLiu, the second prize came to Japanese composer HisatakaNishimori and the third prize to Jonathan M. Domingo from the Philippines.

asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 3
 Vietnam composer Tran Luu Hoang gets 34th ACL Yoshiro Irino award
The 34th ACL Yoshiro Irino award was also presented to Vietnam composer Tran Luu Hoang while Tsang-Houei Hsu award was conferred to Vietnam young composer Nguyen Minh Trang.
asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 4
Composer and Professor Isao Matsushita announced members of the new ACL - Isao Matsushita from Japan (chairman), Dan Yuhas from Israel (vice chairman) and three members of Chris Adams from New Zealand, Seung Jae Chung from the Republic of Korea and Ting Yi Ma from China.

asia-europe new music festival wraps up hinh 5
The Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra gets an outstanding group certificate
The organizing board also presented an outstanding group certificate to the Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra.


Related news